Applicants for TechInSA grants are reviewed by an independent entrepreneurs panel in a pitch process which makes recommendations to the Board.

This comes after the startup proposal has been reviewed through extensive due diligence by TechInSA’s Industry Development team and then by the executive team who were recruited from the private sector. The Entrepreneurs panel is called The SAECF Independent Assessment Panel (IAP) and the members comprise subject matter, business and commercialisation experts from industry.

Between three to five IAP members are selected to participate at each IAP meeting to consider and assess SAECF grants (above a certain threshold) that have been recommended to them by TechInSA. The following entrepreneurs are in the current pool of IAP members:



LinkedIn Profile Link

Andrew Downs

SAGE Automation

Andrew Leunig

Leunig Advisory

Ann Angel

Accelerating Commercialisation

Anne Collins

Trajan Scientific and Medica

Craig Yeung

Motus Legal

Doug Adamson

Accelerating Commercialisation

Grant Steinberg

Accelerating Commercialisation

Greg Siegele


Helen Ujvary

Oxford University Innovation

John Hood

JH Advisory

John O’Brien

Australian CleanTech

Kirk Drage


Mark Fusco

Advanced Focus

Michelle Perugini

Life Whisperer and Presagen

Nick Haan


Tim Waterhouse